because love sucks.life's the pits.it is so wonderful that i couldn't ask for more than this.

42. Sustenance

Posted in A Series of Misfortunate Events by justlikeasugar on June 27, 2017

===========================================================

From: The Recruiter
To: Mycallalillies
Date: Jun 27, 2017, 9:44 AM

Subject: Updates: Interview Feedback

Hello Mycallalillies,

Good day to you.

I am regret to inform you that the position has been closed. Thank you for your interest and time working with us on this search.

I would like to share the feedback from the hiring manager. It is very difficult for them to make decision. They have interview 3 person, including you.

Among this 3; 1 has been rejected and left you and the other candidate.

Overall; hiring manager has positive thoughts about you, mentioned you are humble and friendly. You are perfectly fit for this role.

Nothing negative comments about you. However, due to your 2 months’ notice period, they have chosen another candidate who can join them earlier.

At this moment, they will keep your profile as record, and should any suitable role arise in near future, they will like to touch base with you.

Thank you and I wish you success in your endeavours.

Let’s be in touch!

Best Regards,

The Recruiter

===========================================================

To be fair; prior to the interview, I immediately wrote off this job opportunity as another dud to kill any hopes of securing it.

I was still reeling from another rejection from previous callback and seeing my Jobstreet job applications’ status were almost immediately updated as “Not Suitable”. It had made me questioned my credibility as a company’s asset whenever that happened. From those self-doubts; two questions never fail to haunt me:  Am I past my peak? Am I fated to “die” in this company?

As days passed before the actual day; that tiny glimmer of hope sparked into a small flame before combusting into a full wildfire.

In spite of reaching uncharacteristically punctual for the interview; the moment I stepped into the office, I did not realise how badly I wanted to work there.

Sadly; just like the other two callbacks for this year, I was passed for the job opportunity all because I have to serve two months’ notice.

It does not matter if one have the work experiences and qualifications; it is all about the early bird catches the worm. Literally, of course. Because if it is all about really getting worms in real life, I will just give it a pass. Maybe, it is really just about being at the right time and at the right place ie Luck.

But at times like these; I just can’t believe my luck.

As Mimi-chan says; nothing like a death grip on an employee when she has to serve more than  a month’s resignation notice.

Why don’t you give one month’s notice?

For obvious reasons.

Don’t get it?

It is ok.

When you are already married with kids and bills to pay, please get back to me if you can afford to work for a company for a month’s worth for free in order to forfeit the balance second month.

Trust Abah; though, to put things into perspective when I was confiding to him about my disappointment:

Rizqi; if it is meant to be yours, it will still be yours regardless of how long it takes.
You should have faith in Allah swt for verily (ed: yes, he actually quote the word “verily”) He is the best Planner and only He knows what’s best for you.
So, Kak, do not worry so much. Importantly; do not chase after rizqi because it might not be meant for you after all.
Let rizqi comes to you at the right time and at the right place.

Mashaa’Allah.

A timely reminder and I calmed myself down after that.

Well, I was not proud of myself either.

I guess I have to wait until end of year before deciding what is my next course of action.

(Unless Mr Backpack gets prick of conscience and decide to recommend me to his company. Ha!)

‘Til then; I am keeping faith that when one door of opportunity closes, another door of better opportunity beckons waiting to be opened.

In shaa Allah.

images.png

 

 

-Surah Al-Ankabut, Verse 62

Comments Off on 42. Sustenance

