because love sucks.life's the pits.it is so wonderful that i couldn't ask for more than this.

44. Festivities

Posted in A Series of Misfortunate Events by justlikeasugar on July 5, 2017

Maal Hijrah

Birthdays.

Anniversaries.

Eid Mubarak.

With the exception of Ramadhan; everything felt dull and lifeless after the passing of Mama.

With her passing; if feels like she does not only rip my heart, she also left a huge irreplaceable void.

I was not lying when I had told Encik that I wanted to die. While I had never experienced heartbreak over failed relationships; I could safely vouch no heartbreak could ever win the loss of your parents’.

Parents.

It is funny how they raise us to surpass in every aspect of theirs but they did not raise us to live without them when the Time comes.

I thought I could not move forward and this was it.

Or so it felt.

While the void remains irreplaceable; bit by bit, I pick up myself up and inch forward whenever self-realisation comes to me after fulfilling fardhu prayers.

It teaches me that wounds; even if it takes time to heal, eventually will recover. In time to come; one will barely notice the scar that remains after the wound is completely healed.

Piece by piece; remedy comes in different forms of love as they heal the soul:

It comes in the form of the Encik.

Of the Gublets.

Of my lovely girlfriends and the usual suspects.

Importantly; of the form of my family both biological and extended alike.

Verily; if you have Allah swt in your heart, how can you ever be lonely?

Masha’Allah

Even after all this time,

the Sun never says to the Earth,
‘You owe me.’

Look what happens with a love like that.
It lights the whole sky.

– Hafiz 
(Persian Poet)

Leave a Reply

